Announcements from XXIV ISPRS Congress 2022

By June 20, 2022 No Comments
Announcements from XXIV ISPRS Congress 2022
Nice-June 6-11, 2022


Monday, 6 June 2022


Chen Jun (China), 2012–2016 ISPRS President, was elected as ISPRS Honorary Member by the Congress Opening Ceremony participants.

During the ceremony, Li Deren (China) was also remotely presented the 2020 Brock Gold Medal, sponsored by the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing.

ISPRS General Assembly elected the new Technical Commission presidents for the period 2022-2026:


COMMISSION I  Sensor Systems

President                        TANG Xinming, China

Vice President               Antonio Maria Garcia Tommaselli, Brazil      


COMMISSION II  Photogrammetry

President                        Alper Yilmaz, USA

Vice President               Jan Dirk Wegner, Switzerland


COMMISSION III  Remote Sensing

President                        Laurent Polidori, France

Vice President               Alessandra Gomes, Brazil


COMMISSION IV  Spatial Information Science

President                        Sisi Zlatanova, Australia

Vice President               Maria Antonia Brovelli, Italy


COMMISSION V  Education and Outreach

President                        Gay Jane Perez, Philippines

Vice President               Josefino Comiso, USA


The General Assembly approved seven new ISPRS Fellows:


Kohei Cho (Japan)

Songnian Li (Canada)

Marguerite Madden (USA)

Charles K. Toth (USA)

George Vosselman (The Netherlands)

Jon Mills (UK)

Sisi Zlatanova (Australia)


Tuesday 7 and Wednesday 8 June 2022


During the Plenary Session on Tuesday, the following ISPRS Awards were handed over:

The U.V. Helava Award 2016 – 2019
to Davide Antonio Cucci, Martin Rehak and Jan Skaloud
for the paper
Bundle adjustment with raw inertial observations in UAV applications

The U.V. Helava Award 2020 – 2021
to Andrea Meraner, Patrick Ebel, Xiao Xiang Zhu and Michael Schmitt
for the paper
Cloud removal in Sentinel-2 imagery using a deep residual neural network and SAR-optical data fusion

The Jack Dangermond Award 2017 – 2019
to Florent Poux and Roland Billen
for the paper
Voxel-based 3D Point Cloud Semantic Segmentation: Unsupervised Geometric and Relationship Featuring vs Deep Learning Methods

The Jack Dangermond Award 2020 – 2021
to Yeboah Godwin et al.
for the paper
Analysis of OpenStreetMap Data Quality at Different Stages of a Participatory Mapping Process: Evidence from Slums in Africa and Asia

On Wednesday, during the Plenary Session, the following awards were handed over:

The Otto von Gruber Award, sponsored by Netherlands Center of Geodesy and Geo-informatics was handed over to
Chenglu Wen, China 


The Samuel Gamble Award sponsored by the Canadian Institute of Surveying and Mapping was handed over to

  • for 2020
    Jonathan Li (Canada) and Jan Skaloud (Switzerland)       
  • for 2022
    Ruisheng Wang (Canada)  

The new ISPRS Council was elected during the General Assembly on Wednesday:

President – Lena Halounová (Czech Republic)
Vice President – Nicolas Paparoditis (France)
Secretary General – Jie Jiang (China)
Treasurer – Stewart Walker (USA)
Past President – Christian Heipke (Germany), the position is filled by appointment.

The proposed Congress Director will be appointed following the election of the host of the XXV ISPRS Congress at the General Assemby on Friday.


Thursday 9 and Friday 10 June 2022


During the Plenary Session on Thursday, the following ISPRS Awards were handed over:

The Giuseppe Inghilleri Award
Marc Pierrot Deseilligny
Cheng Wang
Two recipients of the award have been chosen for 2020: Marc Pierrot Deseilligny, for his long-term development of the open source software MicMac; and Cheng Wang, for his work in 3D point cloud processing.

The Frederick J. Doyle Award
Konrad Schindler
for his outstanding scientific achievements and his exceptional contribution to connecting the areas of photogrammetry and computer vision.


During the General Assembly on Friday, the host for the XXV ISPRS Congress was elected

In 2026, the Congress will take place in Toronto, Canada. We heartily congratulate the Canadian Remote Sensing Society!  The Council, both the incoming and the outgoing, look forward to seeing everyone from the ISPRS community, old and new, in 2026 in Toronto!

During the Plenary Session on Friday, the following ISPRS Awards were handed over:

The Wang Zhizhuo Award to
Wolfgang Kainz for his contribution to the theoretical foundations of GIS in fuzzy logic and topology, his efforts to strengthen international education through the development of international graduate programs in geospatial information technology at LIESMARS, Wuhan University, and his excellent work as editor‐in‐chief of the ISPRS International Journal of Geo-Information.

The Karl Kraus Medal to
Wolfgang Förstner, Bernhard P. Wrobel
for the textbook Photogrammetric Computer Vision – Statistics, Geometry, Orientation and Reconstruction, published by Springer in 2016.


During the Gala Dinner on Friday, the following ISPRS Awards will be handed over:

The Eduard Doležal Award to
Damdinsuren Amarsaikhan
for his implementation of many practical applications of remote sensing (RS) and GIS.

The Willem Schermerhorn Award to
Michael Ying Yang
for his leadership of in co-chairing ISPRS working group II/5 Dynamic Scene Analysis in continuity of his involvement in working group III/3 in Image Sequence Analysis (2012-2016).

The Schwidefsky Medal
Derek Lichti
in recognition of his role as Editor‐in‐Chief for the ISPRS’s flagship journal, the ISPRS Journal of Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing, a role in which he served since 2013.

The seven new ISPRS Fellows will receive thier awards:

  • Kohei Cho
  • Songnian Li
  • Marguerite Madden
  • Charles K. Toth
  • George Vosselman
  • Jon Mills
  • Sisi Zlatanova